About Us

In the face of climate change, mass extinction, and habitat destruction, open access to biodiversity data is critical. Named in honor of the last surviving California grizzly bear, Monarch serves as a global access point for scientists and anyone with a passion for the diversity of life.

Collections Policies

Data Usage Policy | Destructive Sampling

Contact Us

Portal Admin:
Jon Fong
jfong@calacademy.org

Ants:
Brian Fisher
bfisher@calacademy.org

Botany:
Deb Trock
dtrock@calacademy.org

Entomology:
Christopher C. Grinter
cgrinter@calacademy.org

Herpetology:
Lauren Scheinberg
lscheinberg@calacademy.org

Ichthyology:
Dave Catania
dcatania@calacademy.org

Invertebrate Zoology:
Chrissy Piotrowski
cpiotrowski@calacademy.org

Ornithology & Mammalogy:
Moe Flannery
mflannery@calacademy.org